Lovely Marylebone…

16/04/2011

Ah… lovely lovely Marylebone… I love this part of London so much and each visit brings me greater joy than the last. The red brick High Street and her environs are home to some great shops, both local (Daunt Books being a firm favourite and a must-visit) and international (Diptyque has a boutique here, along with a fantastic Paul Smith shoes & accessories shop) as well as life’s essentials (a Post Office, Waitrose, Pret a Manger etc).

I recently had even more cause to love this part of town for I was introduced to a really fabulous shop which every man about town should know about and visit.

Trunk nestles discreetly in Chiltern Street, a lovely little street of shops not far from Marylebone High Street. Opened last September, the interior and merchandising is masculine and sensible but done with truly elegant finesse. Beautiful jackets, great shoes and underwear, jeans, suiting… all waiting to be worn by erudite, clever, nice guys. Or so my imagination goes. There is a real sense of curatorial thinking behind the brands which have been brought together to create an enviable but achievable lifestyle. I saw clothes I wanted to put on straight away, as well as pieces which would be perfect for summer parties and lovely occasions yet to happen.

I especially adore the battleship grey shopfront which is unselfconsciously smart and completely charming. I can’t wait for my next visit.


Trunk
8 Chiltern Street
London W1U 7PU
http://www.trunkclothiers.com

One Response to “Lovely Marylebone…”


  1. I do love Trunk. You are a bad influence on me as that Porter bag is lovely but I cannot justify it… can I?


Leave a Reply

