New Year = Wardrobe Clear Out

18/01/2012

Phew! What a busy few weeks that was! Not least because I have been taking the new year by the horns and clearing out the cupboards having discovered a little gem of a shop in Marylebone which takes one’s old designer threads and accessories and sells them for you, splitting the loot 50/50. L’Homme Designer Exchange on Blandford Street is just the place to find pre-loved designer clothing, from jackets and trousers to bags and shoes, scarves, small leathers and cufflinks. Whether you missed them the first time round, or simply couldn’t run to the cost of the item brand new, this is the place to come. The owner reviews your items and prices them up, giving you a list as a sort of receipt. It’s then up to you to check back in every so often to see how your pre-loved items have sold. I am sad to say goodbye to some much loved and well used items including my very first briefcase, a lovely Mulberry number in black congo leather. But when something hasn’t seen the light of day for five years the time has probably come…

So what am I making room for? I will be keeping a close eye on Vivienne Westwood MAN (of course) as the Spring/Summer lines begin to arrive in stores,  as well as making a point of restocking up on John Smedley fine knits in merino wool. I’ve become a huge fan of Reiss over the past few months having experienced their fantastic personal shopping service, and the work wardrobe has been replenished with three fantastic pairs of trousers (all expertly tailored) and a shirt with a great slim 1920s inspired collar. I was delighted to find that Cos had a white shirt which was cut so flatteringly and at the happy-making price of £35 I bought a few in order to have a ready stock in case of last-minute travel. I also brought home a fine black v-neck knit to go over said shirts on milder days and under a jacket on cold days. So it feels as though the transitional wardrobe is coming together and I will be suitably kitted out for the months to come before spring kicks in and we start to dare dream about the summer…

Welcome 2012, I am looking forward to what’s in store.

L’Homme Designer Exchange
50 Blandford Street,
London W1U 7HX
Tel: 020 7224 3266

Reiss
http://www.reissonline.com

John Smedley
http://www.johnsmedley.com

Cos
http://www.cosstores.com

Vivienne Westwood
http://www.viviennewestwood.co.uk

2 Responses to “New Year = Wardrobe Clear Out”

  1. Lori Sandes Says:

    Hi, I’m a university student doing my dissertation on Reiss, looking more into making the experience more personal for the consumer. I’d love to know more about how you feel about the personal shopping experience? If you would be interested in answering a few questions for me that I could use in my research with your consent.

    Anything would help, thanks!
    Lori


Leave a Reply

