Sunny Delightables…

02/04/2012

With all this gorgeous sunshine in London this past week, you must forgive me for secretly hankering for a rainy day… but I recently parted with one hundred and twenty hard-earned pounds in return for the Bentley convertible of umbrellas from the wonderful London Undercover pop-up shop in Monmouth Street. If you haven’t been already you have just over a week to do so and I thoroughly recommend that you do. It is going to start raining and some point (April showers and all that…) and although it may be sunny now, you will thank me for the encouragement to be prepared. I opted for the denim fabric for the sheer ready-for-anything-weekend factor. I am now thinking perhaps I need a black one for during the week… but like martinis one is not enough and two is (probably) too many…

Having said all that it HAS been and continues to be sunny and I have been very preoccupied with ways to reinvigorate last spring season’s Holland Esquire jackets which I am bringing out of their winter hibernation. The easiest way to do this of course is to employ the services of the humble pocket square, a sure-fire way to breathe novelty into a jacket already tried, tested and passed for excellence but in need of a subtle lift. Last week I treated myself to an absolute corker from the Louis Vuitton spring/summer 12 collection, and I’m very glad I did so when I did as I understand they have already sold out. Having bagged the perfect specimen I was subsequently very taken with some cotton ones from another favourite of mine, Paul Smith. The prints are taken from photographs taken by the man himself and each bears the delightful motto “Day dreaming with my camera” . A portable daydream for breast pockets everywhere….

One reason to be thankful for all this sunshine is the absolute pleasure of wearing the Orlebar Brown swim/beach shorts I was recently given as a gift. As someone obsessed with how my clothes fit, swim shorts have always been a source of dread as their bagging, sagging silhouette could not be less flattering… but thank God for Orlebar Brown. Theirs fit like a properly tailored pair of shorts, but with the necessary fabric and hardware spec to be suitable for beach and pool use. Super-light, quick-drying and absolutely top-of-the-line quality I can’t wait to pack them for hols in sunnier climes when the time comes. In the meantime, wearing them around the garden in the sunshine is the next best thing.

Paul Smith pocket squares available at Liberty or at www.paulsmith.co.uk 
London Undercover is at 38 Monmouth Street, www.londonundercover.co.uk and at www.mrporter.com 
Orlebar Brown available at Selfridges or at www.orlebarbrown.co.uk  

2 Responses to “Sunny Delightables…”

  1. Lady J Says:

    How about some modelling shots?


Leave a Reply

