Collaborations 101 – Vuitton x Kusama

03/10/2012

 

What else other than a pop-up / collaboration would prompt me to put pen to paper (metaphorically speaking) and re-engage with my beloved follower of whom I have been so neglectful of late. Having a day job is such a tremendous distraction from the important business of writing, and once again I find myself remiss.

Despite being very slow off the mark, (this isn’t a newsworthy post by any means) I have to say how much I absolutely LOVE the Kusama / Louis Vuitton collaboration. YES I know it’s a huge corporation doing a hugely corporate thing but when as charming and fun as this, I say enjoy.  Selfridges, which I pass now almost daily, has given over (er… sold) ALL their windows to this project, and very jolly they look too, featuring the repetitive almost alarming polka-dot motif the respected and now rather elderly artist is renowned for. Inside, the space formerly known as the Wonder Room has been invaded by a white metal cocoon in which these products proliferate in their dotty colourful glory.

Along with an entire ready to wear and accessories line for women, Vuitton has created a small line of male-friendly accessories which I really do like as they have overlaid the pumpkin-inspired waves and dots of Kusama onto their house monogram canvas… Much like the Hermes x Liberty collaboration of many a moon ago where the Ex Libris Hermes print was overlaid onto vintage Liberty print fabric, they have taken the old and inventively played with it to create something new. The resulting products are the perfect antidote to the now ubiquitous monogram canvas that, being a rather acquisitive sort, I couldn’t resist treating myself to a little something. Isn’t that what the marketeers want us to do…?

Louis Vuitton x Kusama Pop Up at Selfridges, London.
Online at www.louisvuittonkusama.com

Leave a Reply

